Community Life

Board of Trustees

The Book of Proverbs tells us we should 'Train up a child in the way a child should go: and when that child is old, that child will not depart from it.' These instructions offer wonderful guidance as we support our entire school community: each other, our students, our families, our teachers, our coaches, our staff, and our administrators in teaching the Cavalier Way, an all-encompassing program centered on our mission values of Character, Community, Excellence, and Service. 
The Cavalier Way is--and needs to be--about more than facts, figures, and spelling tests. It is about skill-sets and values; it is about providing the necessary self-confidence, tools, and spiritual guidance that soon-to-be successful adults require. It is not just about surviving but thriving in an ever-changing world that needs the prepared, compassionate, principled leaders that a CCES education strives to shape. - Jordan Lea, Board Chair

List of 1 items.

  • 2023-24 CCES Board of Trustees

    Mr. Jordan Lea, Chair
    Mrs. Jeannette T. Goldsmith, Vice-Chair
    Mrs. Katie S. Howell ’92¸Secretary
    The Rev. Dr. Harrison M. McLeod, Rector
    Mrs. Martha Louise R. Lewis ‘81, Vestry
    Ms. Vidya Ravishankar Agarwal
    Dr. Tondre Buck
    Mr. H. Ellis Fisher
    Mrs. Christina T. Harrell
    Mr. Clifford K. Holekamp
    Mr. John M. Jennings ’84
    Mr. Raymond S. Levy
    Mr. Michael H. McBride
    Mr. William H. Pelham
    Dr. John L. Sanders
    Mr. Jason Sippey
    Mrs. Elizabeth C. Swent
    Mrs. Melissa T. Thomason
    Mrs. Christine Von Wyl

The role of the Board of Trustees at CCES is to set policy in keeping with the School's mission and goals; to develop long-range strategic plans for the School; to monitor the School's performance in meeting the goals; to select and evaluate the Head of School; and to ensure sustainability for the School's financial affairs.

The Board of Trustees is responsible for managing the affairs of the School; however, consistent with practice in independent schools, the functions of the Board of Trustees differ from those of boards of public, parochial, or other private schools. At the heart of its governance model, other than the setting and monitoring of policy, the Board of Trustees does not intervene in the daily operation of the School or serve as an appellate review body of administrative decisions of the Head of School or other administrators. Neither does it become involved in the selection, evaluation, or dismissal of faculty, staff, or students.

The Board of Trustees of CCES consists of up to twenty (20) people elected to serve three (3)-year staggered terms, with an option for up to three (3) consecutive terms. The Committee on Trustees also serves as the nominating committee. Trustees may rotate off for one year before standing for election again. A simple majority of trustees must be Episcopalian. At least two (2) trustees must be members of Christ Church, one of whom is a representative of the Vestry; the Vestry representative serves as a voting member. The Head of School serves as an ex-officio (non-voting) member of all committees—standing and ad hoc.

Regular meetings of the Board of Trustees are held during the academic year, and trustees are not compensated.
    • Vidya Ravishankar Agarwal

    • Christina Harrell

    • Jordan Lea

    • Harrison McLeod

    • Tondre Buck

    • Cliff Holekamp

    • Raymond Levy

    • Bill Pelham

    • Ellis Fisher

    • Katie Howell '92

    • Martha Louise Lewis '81

    • John Sanders

    • Jeanette Goldsmith

    • John Jennings '84

    • Mike McBride

    • Jason Sippey

    • Elizabeth Swent

    • Melissa Thomason

    • Christine Von Wyl

Christ Church Episcopal School (“CCES”) admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at CCES. CCES does not discriminate on the basis of sex, race, color, national or ethnic origin, creed, religion, or sexual orientation in the administration of its educational policies, admission policies, financial aid, scholarship or other programs, or athletic or other school-administered programs and activities.