History

  • 1959 Christ Church Episcopal School is formed by the Rector and Vestry of Christ Church in the summer of 1959, succeeding the K-12 Episcopal Day School founded ten years earlier and operated by St. James Episcopal Church. School opens in the fall of 1959 in three frame houses then located on East Washington Street. One building housed the second, third, and fourth grades; in another were fifth, sixth, and first grades. The middle building was used for kindergarten and administration. The Rev. Dr. Claude E. Guthrie served as the school's first headmaster.

  • 1960 Seventh and eighth grades are added.

  • 1961 Ninth grade is added.

  • 1962 The School Board is formed.

  • 1965 Rufus Bethea becomes second Headmaster of CCES.

  • 1969 Tenth Grade is added, straining the parish campus facilities.

  • 1970 With the addition of eleventh Grade, tenth and eleventh-graders attend "Christ High at the "Y," held in a curtained-off wing of the YMCA on Cleveland Street.

  • 1971 With construction delayed on the new Cavalier Campus, Upper and Middle School classes are held at Textile Hall for two months in the fall of 1971.

  • 1972 CCES graduates its first senior class and receives its official accreditation from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS).


         

  • 1973 Ground-breaking ceremonies are held for the art wing, auditorium, and the McCall Field House, named in honor of Arthur C. McCall, the moving force behind the creation of CCES in 1959.

  • 1974 Canon Allen F. Bray becomes third headmaster of CCES. He forms a separate division for middle school students in grades seven, eight and nine.

  • 1981 Benjamin M. Crabtree becomes fourth Headmaster of CCES.

  • 1981 Marguerite Ramage Wyche founds the Alumni Association.

  • 1987 Three new practice and playing fields are added to accommodate girls field hockey, softball and soccer programs.

  • 1988 James K. Rumrill becomes fifth Headmaster of CCES.
  • 1995 The Middle School building on Wenwood Drive opens to fifth through eighth grades.

  • 1997 Ellen Moceri becomes sixth Head of School at CCES.

  • 1999 The International Baccalaureate Diploma program is authorized for grades 11 and 12.

  • 2000 Dr. Leland H. Cox, Jr. becomes seventh Headmaster of CCES.

  • 2000 In the fall of 2000, construction begins on a new, three-story Upper School on the Cavalier campus.

  • 2001 The International Baccalaureate (IB) Primary Years Program (PYP) receives authorization in grades P-5.

  • 2002 Upper School students move into their new building at the start of the January term. In the fall, Lower School students move to the Cavalier campus, to the completely renovated building formerly occupied by the Upper School. For the first time in its history, all CCES students in grades Primer through Twelve are united on a single campus.

  • 2005 The Chapel of the Good Shepherd is dedicated in September, providing all students with a sacred space for weekly worship. Sited in the center of the Cavalier campus, the chapel stands as a powerful symbol of the school's Christian foundations and Episcopal tradition.

  • 2006 A new Cavalier Training Center is built to support the entire athletics program.

  • 2008 Lee Cox is named President of CCES; Leonard Kupersmith becomes the eighth Headmaster of CCES.

       

  • 2010 As Headmaster, Leonard Kupersmith assumes full responsibility for leading the school; the title of President is dropped at the conclusion of Lee Cox's tenure.

  • 2011-2012 New athletic facilities are added, including the Robertson-Navarro Baseball Pavilion, six new tennis courts, new lighting for Carson Stadium, expanded bleachers, soccer and lacrosse practice fields, new batting cages and bullpen, and a new Cavalier blue track.

  • 2013 CCES dedicates the Achievement Center, located in the undercroft of the Chapel of the Good Shepherd.  The mission of the Achievement Center is to enhance the CCES experience for all students through enrichment, remediation, and support services across a wide range of disciplines and grade levels.