Blog & Calendar

12 CCES Students Attend Virtual SC YMCA Youth In Government Conference

by Jamie Bryant, Director of Strategic Marketing & Communications
A small, but mighty, Upper School group of students recently competed in an outstanding, virtual, 2021 South Carolina YMCA Youth in Government Conference! 12 students in our delegation deliberated legislation and competed in four rounds of Mock Trial tournaments.
Three of our bills were signed into law by the SC Youth Governor. Davis Katz and Smith Sanford, Julia Freedman and Lily Thomas, and Michael Wang and Thomas Blevins, all presented legislation that made it successfully through committees, the House, the Senate, and all the way to the Governor's Desk before being signed into law.  Michael and Thomas’ bill won the Outstanding Bill award and Layken Lyon and Jack Hovart won this year's Outstanding Statesman Awards!
Hats off as well to Upper School History Teacher Spencer Jones, for her diligent coordination of the CCES YIG team through a variety of contingencies this year. 
The 2020-21 YIG cohort includes;

  • Julia Freedman ‘24
  • Lily Thomas ‘24
  • Thomas Blevins ‘23
  • Kylie Larkin ‘23
  • Layken Lyon ‘23
  • Bella Sobocinski ‘23
  • Michael Wang ‘23
  • Bright Crosswell ‘22
  • Braden Epley ‘22
  • Anna Pearce Hinsdale ‘22
  • Jack Hovart ‘22
  • Davis Katz ‘22
  • Mac Mertens ‘22
  • Smith Sanford ‘22
  • Jamie Walker ‘22
Great job, legislators! 
No comments have been posted
Christ Church Episcopal School (“CCES”) admits students of any sex, race, color, national or ethnic origin, creed, religion, or sexual orientation to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at CCES. CCES does not discriminate on the basis of sex, race, color, national or ethnic origin, creed, religion, or sexual orientation in the administration of its educational policies, admission policies, scholarship and loan programs, financial aid or other programs, or athletic or other school-administered programs and activities.