Christ Church Episcopal School is formed by the Rector and Vestry of Christ Church in the summer of 1959, succeeding the K-12 Episcopal Day School founded ten years earlier and operated by St. James Episcopal Church. School opens in the fall of 1959 in three frame houses then located on East Washington Street. One building housed the second, third, and fourth grades; in another were fifth, sixth, and first grades. The middle building was used for kindergarten and administration. The Rev. Dr. Claude E. Guthrie served as the school's first Headmaster.
Seventh and eighth grades are added.
Ninth grade is added.
The School Board is formed.
Rufus Bethea becomes second Headmaster of CCES.
Tenth Grade is added, straining the parish campus facilities.
Dr. Leland H. Cox, Jr. becomes seventh Headmaster of CCES.
In the fall of 2000, construction begins on a new, three-story Upper School on the Cavalier campus.
The International Baccalaureate (IB) Primary Years Program (PYP) receives authorization in grades P-5.
Upper School students move into their new building at the start of the January term. In the fall, Lower School students move to the Cavalier campus, to the completely renovated building formerly occupied by the Upper School. For the first time in its history, all CCES students in grades Primer through Twelve are united on a single campus.
The Chapel of the Good Shepherd is dedicated in September, providing all students with a sacred space for weekly worship. Sited in the center of the Cavalier campus, the chapel stands as a powerful symbol of the school's Christian foundations and Episcopal tradition.
A new Cavalier Training Center is built to support the entire athletics program.
Lee Cox is named President of CCES; Leonard Kupersmith becomes the eighth Headmaster of CCES.
As Headmaster, Leonard Kupersmith assumes full responsibility for leading the school; the title of President is dropped at the conclusion of Lee Cox's tenure.
New athletic facilities are added, including the Robertson-Navarro Baseball Pavilion, six new tennis courts, new lighting for Carson Stadium, expanded bleachers, soccer and lacrosse practice fields, new batting cages and bullpen, and a new Cavalier blue track.
CCES dedicates the Achievement Center, located in the undercroft of the Chapel of the Good Shepherd. The mission of the Achievement Center is to enhance the CCES experience for all students through enrichment, remediation, and support services across a wide range of disciplines and grade levels.
The Hartness Performing Arts Center opens its doors. Designed to nurture students’ creative talents, this stunning and comprehensive space promotes the boundless possibilities of musical and dramatic creativity through education, collaboration, and performance.